Friday 1 June 2018

#AHAlbumReview: M.I and Jesse Jagz reunite on DJ Neptune's "Greatness" album

Absolute Hearts Album Review
Artiste: DJ Neptune
Album: Greatness
Tracks: 13 (+2bonus)

Features: M.I, Jesse Jagz, Burna Boy, Mayorkun, Niniola, Larry Gaaga, CDQ, Olamide, Zoro, Reminisce, Kiss Daniel, Maleek Berry, Small Doctor, Yemi Alade, Runtown, Willy Paul, Patoranking, Efya, Mr. Eazi, C4 Pedro, Pasuma, Mr. Real, Harmonize, Davido, Phyno.
Producers: Ckay (1), Sossick (2), Young John (3), Masterkraft (5), JaysonBeatz (6) Spellz (9), Jay Pizzle (7) Magix Beatz (4, 10, 11) Legendury Beatz (8), Producer Teddy/Majorbangz (12) GospelOnTheBeat (13) Del B (14) Simba Tagz (15)

One of Nigeria finest deejay, DJ Neptune on the 25th of May finally dropped his much anticipated album titled Greatness, the album which has been in the works since last year, hosts some of the biggest and finest artistes in Africa which include but not limited to M.I, Jesse Jagz, Burna Boy, Niniola, Yemi Alade, Willy Paul, Mr. Eazi, C4 Pedro.

The album contains 13 original tracks and has two more tracks as bonuses and without wasting your time it’s time to know what makes this album great.

The album started off in the best possible way, as DJ Neptune gives one of the few collaborations we have been itching for, Blood & Fire sees M.I and brother Jesse Jagz reconnect first time in a very long while and just like they have done in the past the two brothers made sure the Ckay produced track is a hip hop classic. The rating will be 8

Shayo sees Burna Boy doing what he knows how to do best, this is a decent pop song from Burna and the beautiful production was done by Sossick and the rating will be 7

The 3rd track on this album was produced by Young John and DMW artiste Mayorkun blessed us with his vocals, Mayorkun made sure the heavily violin base song titled Tear Rubber gets a 7 rating.

Rolling ft. Niniola is up next and the first of Magix Beatz' production work on this album. This is a decent afro-house pop song which sees Niniola bringing on her A game on this. Very decent tune if you ask me, as it will be one of the songs that will do well off this album. The rating will be 8. 

Up next is a track Shawa Shawa and this is another powerful collaboration, as DJ Neptune teams up Larry Gaagaa and they employed the service of Olamide x CDQ x Slimcase and together on a Masterkraft production they gave us this brilliant street song. You just have to praise the production genius of Masterkraft on this song as the rating will be 9. 

JaysonBeatz is responsible for this dope hip hop joint which features Zoro and Reminisce. On the party track rap titled Friday we hear both artistes drop some decent flow on a groovy yet hip hop track. I have to say the production of this song is nothing but exceptional, big ups to JaysonBeatz as the rating will be 8.

This  album won’t have been complete without a feature from the most sought after artiste  in the industry right now Kizz Daniel and just like he has been doing on most of his collaboration this year, Kizz Daniel brought down the roof making sure the excellent and superb production from Jay Pizzle didn’t ‘t go in vain. Wait is definitely one if not the best song off this album and the rating will be 9
WATCH: DJ Neptune releases video for “Wait” ft Kizz Daniel off his Greatness album

My World is the 8th track off the album and DJ Neptune employs the service of Maleek Berry who is probably the best R&B/Pop artiste in the country right now and on a Legendury Beatz produced track, Maleek gave us a classic song as the rating will be 8. 

Do Like I do as produced by Spellz sees DJ Neptune connect with another hard working artiste and Baseline frontrunner Skales and Tanzanian act Harmonize and you have no choice than to appreciate everyone’s effort on this track. Spellz provided a monster production. Skales' efforts on this song is pretty amazing and of course the vocals of the sensational Harmonize is something that will blow your mind, the is another smash hit on this album as the rating will be 9.

Secret Agenda ft. Davido x Phyno is a good highlife effort and to be honest it's probably the weakest song on the album, don’t get me wrong this is not a bad song, I mean the production is dope and Phyno came through but this wasn’t the right fit for Davido though he tried his best but the second Magix Beatz produced song can only manage 6 rating. 

The third song produced by Magix Beatz is Sisi and this is far better as it is a combination of Pop, Alujo and Fuji sounds all in one and with the feature of Small Doctor, Pasuma x Mr. Real you can tell this one is for the street, the rating will be 8. 

No Body which is the 12th track off the album features Yemi Alade and Kenyan artiste Willy Paul with Producer Teddy/Majorbangz is responsible for the true African highlife sounds that the song gives us, both artiste came through on this as the rating will be 8.

The album came to an end officially with the song  In A Away an on this one we have Nigerian dancehall act Patoranking and Ghana dancehall queen Efya and together on a GospelOnTheBeatz produced song they gave us a very beautiful dancehall song as the rating will be 8.  

Why (produced by Del B) and Mia Mia (Simba Tagz) are the two bonus track and it features Runtown and Mr. Eazi x C4 Pedro respectively, both tracks were released last year and did very well.

I guess it is safe to say that DJ Neptune did serve us some great tune on this project with songs like Shawa Shawa, Do Like I do and Wait, as some of the top songs on the album. All in all this is a great body of work that has been put together by DJ Neptune and the total rating will be 7.9/10.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Us
Phone/whatsapp: +2348027922363