Wednesday 3 May 2017

Senate confirms new ministers nominated by president Buhari

The Senate has screened and confirmed Stephen Ocheni and Suleiman Hassan as ministers, following their nominations by President Muhammadu Buhari in March.

Mr. Ocheni is from Kogi State which has not had anyone in the Federal Executive Council, as constitutionally required, since the death of James Ocholi in an accident last year.
Mr. Hassan, Gombe State, is to replace Amina Mohammed who left Nigeria’s public service to take up top responsibility at the United Nations.
Both nominees, as they were before the confirmation, displayed impressive performances, on Wednesday, when they came before the Senate committee of the whole chaired by Senate President Bukola Saraki.
They responded to questions posed by lawmakers mainly on their respective areas of competence and backgrounds.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Us
Phone/whatsapp: +2348027922363