Friday 6 January 2017

Riyad Mahrez Rules Africa, As He Is Crowned CAF African Footballer Of The Year

Algeria and Leicester City's Riyad Mahrez has been named African Footballer of the Year for his part in the club's stunning Premier League title triumph last season. Mahrez was chosen ahead of 2015 winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool winger Sadio Mane in a poll of African national team coaches. The result was announced at the annual Confederation of African Football awards on Thursday night. 
Mahrez won the PFA Player of the Year award last season and was also included in the PFA Team of the Year. He said “It's a huge honour, I am happy and pleased, I thank all my teammates at Leicester and Algeria. I dedicate this to my family and all those who support me every day.”

Other winners at the ceremony in Abuja on Thursday night include Arsenal Ladies and Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala as Women’s Footballer of the Year, Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Dennis Onyango as Player of the Year based in Africa ahead of Mamelodi Sundowns teammate Khama Billiat and Zambia's Rainford Kalaba and the Super Falcons as Women’s Team of the Year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Us
Phone/whatsapp: +2348027922363