Wednesday 13 June 2018

Three North America countries, US, Canada and Mexico to host the 2026 World Cup

The United States, Canada and Mexico will host the 2026 World Cup after beating bid rival Morocco, FIFA has announced. United States, Mexico and Canada will become the first three-way co-hosts of the World Cup.

The North America bid received 134 of the 203 votes, while Morocco polled 65 in the vote of the FIFA Congress in Moscow which saw one member vote for neither bid. The 2026 World Cup will be the first expanded tournament featuring 48 teams, up from the current 32-team competition.

A total of 80 games will be played with 60 planned in the United States and 10 each in Canada and Mexico with the final played at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey, home to NFL teams New York Giants and New York Jets.

President of the US Soccer Federation, Carlos Cordero said "It's a bit emotional for us today. Thank you so, so very much for this incredible honour. Thank you for entrusting us with the privilege of hosting the FIFA World Cup in 2026. The beautiful game transcends borders and cultures. Football today is the only Victor. And in that spirit we wish all Russian hosts and all the teams competing here the very best of luck."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Contact Us
Phone/whatsapp: +2348027922363